Delight and drudgery

“If education is always to be conceived along the same antiquated lines of a mere transmission of knowledge, there is little to be hoped from it in the bettering of man’s future.” –Maria Montessori

Advent Lessons and Carols

lighting the candle

Why is it that we presume school is supposed to be miserable? I remember watching a street performer once with my children, all of whom were in Montessori since age three. The performer started telling typical “I hate school” jokes, presuming that his audience would be right there with him. My children honestly didn’t understand the jokes. I have children ages 3 to 14, and not one of them has complained of being bored with school, or hating the work, or feeling like school is the adversary.

It doesn’t have to be that way. Here is a link to another blog (“Blue Monster”) where the author quotes an email that I had sent to parents. So here I am, quoting him quoting me, but I just think school needs to be a place where the child thrives and experiences wonder delight, not drudgery.

http://monster-blue.blogspot.com/2010/03/intrinsic-motivation-to-learn.html

Explore posts in the same categories: Montessori

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

